Hatch Original: Christina

Name: Christina
Spends Her Time: repping’ The Standard Hotels
Lives: Bedford Stuyvesant, Brooklyn

 

HATCH: Hey Christina! Tell us a little about YOU.

CHRISTINA: Well, I am originally from Cincinnati, Ohio. Much to my Ohio State family’s dismay, I ended up at the University of Michigan to skate for their nationally ranked synchronized skating team. Post-college, I moved to NYC where I am a proud resident of Bedford Stuyvesant in Brooklyn. I love it. My friends think I’m obsessed, and maybe I am…

Anyways, I moved to NYC to become a publicist. After interning and freelancing with a few fashion PR firms on accounts like Marc Jacobs, J. Crew, and Suno, I now work at  Black Frame, an elite fashion, art, and lifestyle PR firm, where I manage publicity for The Standard Hotels, a boutique hotel brand in New York, Los Angeles, and Miami.

faraway

H: Ooh la la! The fancy life! What kind of things are you doing when you’re not deciding who gets to go to fabulous parties at the Standard?

C: I love exploring the borough I live in. Whether I’m heading to concerts, museums, or restaurants, I love to trying new things. In fact, it’s my own personal mission to show anyone that comes to Brooklyn why I love it so much. I’m a Brooklyn spirit guide!

Beyond exploring, I try to stay active. My friends often joke about how much I’ve managed to do since waking up early that morning before brunch. Between running, yoga, figure skating, and volunteering, I have to take advantage of my weekends because my weekdays are usually dedicated to events at The Standard. I’m definitely a New Yorker now…there’s no time to be idle!

dancing

H:We hear you. With all of that activity where do you find time to channel your creativity?

C: My job as a publicist allows me to channel my creativity! Working for a brand like The Standard Hotels challenges me to push my creative boundaries as I help create and execute events and initiatives that keep the brand relevant and in the news.

christinalaugh

H:So, what’s the coolest thing you’ve ever created for the Standard?

C: I started working for the brand in October, so by January, I felt comfortable taking the lead on an event to open our pop-up ice skating rink at The Standard, High Line. I was particularly excited to work on this event because I have been a competitive figure skater since I was 8. The event with Veuve Clicquot drew a great crowd that included Padma Lakshmi, Zosia Mamet, and Rebecca Minkoff. Guests sipped champagne between Olympic inspired games like ice dancing and penguin relays judged by designer Nicole Miller, Olympic ice dancer Sinead Kerr, and Stanley Cup Champion Grant Marshall. Grant even let me put on his Stanley Cup Championship ring!

necklacecloseup

H:Sounds like an amazing time, you’ll have to invite us to the next one! How would you describe your personal style?

C: My style is very formulaic. I like to wear bold, colorful patterns and prints and loose, simple silhouettes. Recently, I’ve embraced a lot of African prints as I cut off my relaxed hair and started to grow out a fro.

closeupbag

H:Awesome! We can definitely see your love for Bold Colors and Brooklyn in your apparel choices.

C: Yes! I love being able to customize everything on Hatch! I took the picture of the water tower while sitting on my rooftop last summer. It’s so picturesque and it will always remind me of my very first apartment. It’s awesome to carry it around with me in a physical form. The Brooklyn tote and the “Bedstuy or Die” matchbooks are so me—I can’t wait to make more!

Personalized Modern City Tote Bag by The Gretest, from $36.
Custom Glass Tile Necklace by Glassology, from $38.
Custom Mini Instabooks by Familiar Fox, from $10.

bedstuy

H: We’re all about showing off that personal style! Alright, one last wild-card question. If you could have dinner with any famous person in the world, who would it be?

C: I would love to have an intimate ladies’ dinner with my favorite singers and style icons Erykah Badu, Beyonce and Solange Knowles, and Cipriana Quann from Urban Bush Babes. There would be a lot of great hair at that party!

H: So much great hair, and not excluding yourself!

smile

– Hatch Originals is a monthly series showcasing interesting people and their stories. If you know someone who should be featured get in touch with us at Kristine [at] hatch.co 

Leave a Reply

